Car Insurance Rules for Wisconsin
Car insurance payments can take a major chunk out of your monthly paycheck. And if you are a safe driver who has never had an accident, it can be hard to believe that you actually need that insurance. You may have asked yourself “Do I have to have car insurance in Wisconsin?” However, in addition to it being the law in Wisconsin, there are good reasons to keep car insurance on your vehicle. Keep reading for an overview of car insurance rules for Wisconsin. And along the way you’ll probably get a good idea why you need the stuff.
Insurance Coverage Required for Wisconsin Drivers
At a minimum, Wisconsin requires drivers to have liability insurance, as well as insurance for uninsured and underinsured motorists. Liability insurance helps pay for injuries or damage from an accident that is your fault. At a minimum, drivers must be covered for:
- $25,000 for injury or death per person, per accident
- $50,000 total for multiple people injured or dead per accident
- Property damage coverage of $10,000
Of course, sometimes people will drive without insurance. Even though that is illegal in Wisconsin, the state has rules in place to makes sure that everyone will be covered. To that end, the car insurance rules for Wisconsin say that each driver and vehicle must also be covered in the following amounts in the case they are in an accident caused by an underinsured or uninsured motorist:
- $100,000 for injuries per person per accident
- $300,000 for total injuries
Drivers are also able to add optional coverage if desired, such as insurance that will protect from other car damage (like hitting a deer in the back woods) or theft. This insurance is not required by Wisconsin law, but is probably a good idea depending on your area.
Read More: What Do You Need To File Taxes?
While car insurance can be expensive, especially for learning and young drivers, it’s important to have. If you are driving without your insurance card or other proof that you have it, you may be fined up to $10, and driving without car insurance at all can net you a fine of up to $500. So get out there, get your car insured, and drive safe!